30th DECEMBER 2016

 The 2016 annual general meeting of the club passed off successfully.

The full minutes of the meeting are available to download HERE , but to briefly sum up the major points, the main committee remains the same except  the treasurer, who will remain for the time being but will in time this year, hand over the treasurers position to a new candidate.

One member of the technical committee stood down but two more were elected increasing the technical committee by one member.

Membership fees remain the same as last year.

The club championship will be decided over 8 races this year, the best 7 results from any one rider counting towards the championship.

The new A.C.U. 50cc national championship was formally announced to the club.

After a short break for snacks brought up from the bar, this year’s prize presentation took place.

During the afternoon, guest speaker, former Grand Prix racer, Tony Head, gave a fascinating talk about his racing career, followed by a question and answer session, all of which was received by a hearty round of applause.

Tony also presented all the prizes to the winners and competitors in this years championships.

Recipient of the award for services to 50cc racing,  a greatly surprised Derek Smith, also thanked the meeting via the telephone !

Lifetime membership was awarded to Ian Mcleod and Dave Cain.

Kevin Burton, winner of the open class, receives the open class trophy from Tony Head.

James Gellatly, receives the Air Cooled trophy on behalf of James Widdowson.

A delighted Gareth Arnold receives the trophy for second place in the air cooled championship.

Kerry Burton receiving the trophy for third place in the Air cooled class.

Paul Whiting, receiving the trophy for the best individual race achievement.

All points scorers received a marble trophy, Ernie Parry receives his from Tony Head.

Mick Smedley proudly receives his marble trophy, after his first season back in racing.

A surprised Roger Naul takes his trophy from Tony head.

Club Chairman Steve Porter thanks Tony and receives his trophy.

Alan Naul accepts his trophy from long time friend Tony Head.

Trophies were also awarded to the following who were unable to attend the presentation:-

Sam Grief                      for Second place in the Open Championship, and race of the year.

James Widdowson     also received a trophy for Third place in the Open Class championship.

Derek Smith                 receives a trophy for services to 50cc racing.

The following club members also received a marble trophy for scoring points in championship rounds this year:-

     Allan Richardson

     Rob Maltby

     Derek Betts

     Richard Done

     Colin Purslow

     Ian Cowles

     John Cooke

     Karen England

     Marty Robbins

     Nigel Franklin.


22nd January 2017

Regulations and entry forms for four of our championship meetings are now available for club members to download via our club forum. Log on to the forum and download as soon as you can as demand for grid places is sure to be high this year!

Bromyard Festival Of Speed & Barry Sheene Festival Olivers Mount

Club member Marty Robbins has alerted us to the Bromyard Festival of speed in which he will be taking part on his 50cc machine on the 2nd of April. The festival includes parades of classic cars and bikes celebrating Bromyard as the birthplace of Morgan Motorcars.

To read more visit the festival website HERE

The annual Barry Sheene Festival at Olivers Mount near Scarborough is to hold a 50cc race event this year on the 22nd and 23rd  of July

Some of our members have indicated that they are going to take part at what we’re sure will be a terrific event.

To read more visit the Olivers Mount website HERE

8th February 2017

John Siddons, 50cc racing enthusiast passes away.

News has reached the club this week of the sad passing of Classic 50cc racing enthusiast John Siddons.

His good friend William Spencer who broke the sad news to us says of John, “My good friend and ex racer, John Siddons died last Saturday. Sue and I were with him as he passed away peacefully

Good racer, excellent bike restorer, chef, professional singer, guitarist, keyboard player.... if John wanted to do it he did it. The 84-year-old had been a singer and guitarist, a motorbike racer, motorcycle restorer and salesman, John’s racing career started off on a home-built Triumph, and he progressed to his favourite bikes, a Grand Prix New Imperial and a Rudge. John particularly liked the “tiddlers” as he called them, and rebuilt and restored numerous 50cc machines over the years.”

John’s funeral will be held at Ollerton Crematorium at 1pm on Monday, February 20, and everyone is welcome to attend.

In a touching tribute to his good friend John, William Spencer is kindly donating prize monies to the top three finishers in the second 50cc race at our Snetterton meeting in March. A new trophy, the “John Siddons Memorial Trophy” will also be presented to the winner of that race, a fitting tribute which we are sure the winner will be proud to receive.

You can read more about John in an article by the Worksop Guardian HERE.

Sam Grief wins the European FIME class 2b Championships !

Sam Grief pictured here with proud Dad Zac, is the worthy winner of the ACU European 50cc championship. The event is held over 3 meetings in Croatia, Sweden, and at Donnington Park in the UK. Although Sam only raced at Donnington Park his four straight wins at the event secured him the championship.

Well done Sam  !

Aberdare Park’s Derek Smith presented with trophy from AGM.

Aberdare Park circuit Commander In Chief, Derek Smith, finally received his trophy for “Services to Classic 50cc Racing” this week, in recognition of his long commitment to the 50cc class at the popular park venue.

Derek, who is hosting the 4th round of the ACU 50cc championship at the Park this year is shown here proudly receiving his trophy and a permanent plaque to keep, from Club Secretary Lynne Tolhurst at his home in South Wales.